Nike Roshe Run Sherpa: Review

In A/W 2013 Nike released the Roshe Run Sherpa, a bootie influenced shoe based on its popular Roshe Run silhouette. After a year of love and use, here’s my review.

I purchased the blue Liberty print version last November, and I’ve worn them fairly regularly ever since. The inner of the shoe covered in a furry ‘sherpa’ lining. The boots tie all the way to around six inches above your ankles viz crossed shoelaces, and there’s an elasticated pull at the back if you want to secure it in even more. The front body of the shoe is covered in a plastic based tough material as you might find on a rainjacket, and the sole pretty much replicates the Rosh Run sole.

I’m a big fan of my Roshe Runs, and for anyone looking for a fur lined winter boot: these are not like Uggs. You can very much run in them, and they are firmly secure on your feet whilst being also very comfortable. I can walk through damp woods in them without a hint of a problem whilst still feeling sturdy and snug. Despite the waterproof like material, these shoes are not completely waterproof. They have served me well in light rain, but if you trek through heavy snow or over an hour of torrential rain, you are going to feel wetness seeping. However, they are extremely warm, and also very light. I myself have a small foot which is a little wider than normal and the shoes cater to that just fine. It’s a little tight, but not to the point where it feels more than just snug.

As for the style, this is one I feel can cater to both sexes. The Nike x Liberty collection version was obviously marketed towards women, but Nike also do plain colours which can also work for men too.

My final verdict? I love them. After a year of wear they still look good and not overly worn, and I love them far more than my Uggs. Beware, as these are not heavy duty winter boots for roughing it, and should not be treated as such. I myself have thick fur boots for the more extreme conditions. Yet as style goes, it is a great foot warming shoe for the Autumn/Winter months.

As for the style, this is one I feel can cater to both sexes. The Nike x Liberty collection version was obviously marketed towards women, but Nike also do plain colours which can also work for men too.

My final verdict? I love them. After a year of wear they still look good and not overly worn, and I love them far more than my Uggs. Beware, as these are not heavy duty winter boots for roughing it, and should not be treated as such. I myself have thick fur boots for the more extreme conditions. Yet as style goes, it is a great foot warming shoe for the autumn/winter months.

Leave a Reply

